Then there were 10.

Arrowtown School’s Year 5-6 rippa rugby team’s now won the Otago title a phenomenal 10
times in a row.

At the regional rippa rugby tournament at Dunedin’s Edgar Centre recently, held indoors due to persistent rain, the side won all four of its games, beating Dunedin’s Abbotsford School 8-6 in the final.

Pictured with coach Paul Winders are, back row from left, Sancia Capstick, Olivia Mahoney,
Andie Clarke, Tamati O’Callaghan, Walter and Charlie Rohland, Annie Clark, Keira Lightfoot and, front row, Samuel Tate, Ollie Wilton, Deacon Bolt and Moby Molgat.

Sports coordinator Winders has been involved every year, though in the first year he assisted Ian Collin and Mark Jessop.

He says the kids just love rippa, practising regularly at lunchtimes even if he’s not there.

‘‘It’s fast, it’s free-flowing and the girls like it just as much as the boys ’cos they can get involved and it’s not contact.

“You’ve got seven players on the field, they’ve got to work as a team and every player’s just as important.’’

At least three girls have to be on the field at any one time.

But the team won’t go on to nationals in Wellington, as the school’s other winning Year 5-6 teams have done, as NZ Rugby’s trying to save money.

Meanwhile, Arrowtown School’s Year 3/4 team also won its comp in Dunedin recently, while the Year 7-8 side drew with Queenstown’s Shotover Primary in their final.