Big winner: Queenstown ski racer Alice Robinson's been named Central Otago's senior sportswoman of the year and won the Bruce Grant Memorial Trophy. PICTURE: IMAGE CENTRAL

Queenstowners brought home some major gongs from the Forsyth Barr Central Otago Sports Awards last Friday.

Ski racer Alice Robinson, 22, was named senior sportswoman of the year and won the overall supreme award, the Bruce Grant Memorial Trophy, following a standout season with five world cup podium finishes — four silvers and one bronze — while pro golfer Ben Campbell, 32, who had a breakthrough win at the Hong Kong Open last year, finished third at the Indonesian Open and finished fifth on the Asian Tour Order of Merit, was named senior sportsman of the year.

Top gong: Queenstown pro golfer Ben Campbell, named sporstman of the year at the Forsyth Barr Central Otago Sports Awards last Friday. PICTURE: IMAGE CENTRAL

Local netball umpire Sasha McLeod, 50, doubled down, again winning the official of the year title, and the Dunstan Arm Rowing Club’s senior men’s quad, including Queenstowners Marley King Smith, 18, and Jack Pearson, 20, was named team of the year, after winning gold in the
men’s senior division at the national champs in February and bronze in the men’s premier quad.

Doubling down: Queenstown netball umpire Sasha McLeod was again named official of the year. PICTURE: IMAGE CENTRAL

Other winners were Wānaka snowboarder Lucia Georgalli (junior sportswoman), Lake Hāwea freeskier Luke Harrold (junior sportsman), Wānaka ski racer Adam Hall (para athlete of the year), athletics coach Michael Beable, of Wānaka (coach of the year), Wānaka rowing coach Rob Bruce (Spirit of Central Otago Award), Naseby luger Maggie Dowling (Junior Spirit of Central Otago), and Wānaka’s Aspiring Gymsports Gymnastics Club founder and coach Rae Paterson (John Fitzharris Memorial Trophy for Services to Sport).

Additionally, Valmai Breen (Alexandra, softball), Simone Maier (Wānaka, multisport) and John Roche (Alexandra, golf) were the first inductees into the Central Otago Sports Hall of Fame.

[email protected]

- Advertisement -