Club’s oarsome honour

Whakatipu Rowing Club has won Rowing New Zealand’s prestigious ‘club of the year’ trophy.

It was nominated by Southland Rowing Association (SRA), which stated the club had built solidly this past season on its ‘‘very successful’’ 2021/’22 season, in particular by winning three golds, two bronzes and retaining the President’s Scull for ‘best sculling school’ at the New Zealand secondary schools Maadi Cup regatta.

SRA also said the club was a purely voluntary organisation which, thanks to good management, had initiated strategic projects.

These include four new boat sheds and plans for a clubhouse extension, while it has also increased its profile in the community and engaged with local and national stakeholders to advance rowing in the Central Otago region.

It has also worked with Friends of Lake Hayes to ensure the ongoing health of the lake it trains on, and is planting hundreds of natives around its clubhouse.

Meanwhile, at its prizegiving, it awarded ‘rower of the year’ to Marley King Smith.

Marley, 17, was recently selected for the NZ under-19 men’s quad for the world U19 champs in France in August, after winning two golds at Maadi.

‘Crew of the year’ went to Maadi-winning boys’ U18 double, Marley and Xavier Small.

‘Performance of the year’, voted by the coaches, went to Xavier and Ashton White for their Maadi-winning boys U17 double scull.

Olivia Key won the sportsmanship, leadership and performance award, Charlie Manser was ‘most improved rower’ and Toby Tregidga was ‘novice of the year’.

Marley’s dad, Bas Smith, was named ‘club member of the year’.

High school’s athletes shine

Wakatipu High School athletes are continuing to make their names on the national, and international, stage.

Year 13 pupil Lucy Sinclair won the ‘Female Youth A’ competition, or under-18, at the Australian National Youth Bouldering champs in Sydney recently, having earlier won the New Zealand National Female Youth A comp, also for bouldering.

Meantime hockey players Pete Davis, Pearce Summer field, Samuel Robertson-Muir and Alex Campbell have been selected for the Central Otago U18 men’s hockey team to compete at the Vantage National Men’s U18 tournament, being held in Dunedin between July 2 and 8.

[email protected]

- Advertisement -