No.6: Celebrating another Erewhon Cup victory in Tekapo last Sunday are, back row from left, Ingemar Eriksson, Tom Kelly, Dan Harshey, Jakub Masaryk, Kimberley Helmersson, Matt Stewart, Dave Armagon, and front row from left, Joel Hasselman, Patrik Bilich, Kellye Nelson and Ben Rotto


They’ve done it again, but only by the skin of their teeth.

The Wakatipu Goldrush ice hockey team’s again king of the South, beating allcomers to win New Zealand’s oldest trophy in the sport, the Erewhon Cup, first awarded in 1937, in Tekapo last Sunday.

The mixed team beat the Dunedin Penguins in a thrilling penalty shoot-out to take home the cup for the sixth year in a row.

Because the score was tied 3-3 at fulltime, it was followed by a sudden-death period during which no one could get the puck in goal.

Goldrush’s chief wrangler, Dave Armagon, says the win was all the more satisfying because the team was exhausted after playing five games over the three-day tournament.

It had a ‘‘bumper’’ line-up of nine teams this year including the Queenstown Rangers, four sides from Dunedin, and teams from Gore, Alexandra and Tekapo.

Armagon, who’s been involved for more than a decade, says the Goldrush is a ‘‘bunch of keen locals’’ that come together to contest two tournaments each year, the Erewhon Cup and the Queenstown Cup — the latter staged at the end of the season.

Strictly an outdoor rink event, the venue alternates between Gore, Alex andra and Tekapo.