Only Cricket World Cup qualies for Queenstown


Queenstown has been blasted out of the grounds – it won’t be hosting any Cricket World Cup fixtures.

The Kiwi organising committee of the 2015 event – jointly hosted by New Zealand and Australia from February 14 to March 29 – unveiled venues today.

Seven venues across NZ are to be used – Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, Napier and Nelson.

Christchurch will host the tournament’s opening fixture between NZ and Sri Lanka.

Wellington gets a quarter-final and Auckland gets a semi.

The World Cup final will be at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

The Australian host cities are Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney.

Each venue will host three matches. Dunedin fixtures are the Black Caps against a qualifier on February 17, Sri Lanka versus a qualifier on February 22 and two qualifiers facing each other on February 26.

Queenstown will get to host some World Cup qualifying matches between January 13 and February 1 next year, potentially involving minnows Hong Kong, Papua New Guinea, Nepal and Uganda – and the bottom six teams of a World Cricket League Championship.

Queenstown jointly hosts the 34 qualifying matches with Hamilton, Mt Maunganui, New Plymouth, Christchurch, Rangiora and Lincoln. 

Therese Walsh, Head of NZ for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 local organising committee, said at today’s announcement: “This is a once in a generation opportunity to see the best players and best teams going head to head in our backyard, and we have worked hard to make the tournament as accessible as possible by spreading the games across the two host countries.

“The result is a great one for NZ cricket and fans all around the country. We have every team
playing here, equal numbers of host cities and pool games, and what are sure to be fiercely contested
quarter-final and semi-final. This will be a summer that inspires young cricketers and provides lasting
memories for Kiwi fans and families.”

CLICK HERE for fixtures