Gold and silver for Wakatipu rowers at NZ champs


Wakatipu Rowing Club coxed fours yesterday (Saturday) won gold and silver at the New Zealand rowing championships at Waikato’s Lake Karapiro.

The Andrew Jolly-coached crew of Latham Jones, 18, Reid Long, 18, Willem van der Kaag, 18, Chris Johnson, 23, and coxswain Henry Matthews, 14, took the gold in the men’s club four in a quick time of 6min 27sec, almost three seconds ahead of the North Island champion Hamilton Boys’ High crew.

This crew has been undefeated all season.

Ninety minutes after taking gold the crew were back in the water for the men’s under-19 coxed four, Daniel Halligan, 17, replacing Johnson in the bow seat.

The race was a nail-biter, Waikato beating the Wakatipu crew by less than 0.32 of a second.

Wakatipu also achieved fifth place in the senior men’s coxless four.