Frear in line for double


Wakatipu High ice hockey coach Neil Frear could be in line for a double celebration at the Central Otago sports awards tomorrow night.

His hotshot school side has been nominated as finalists in the Teams category – and his ice hockey-playing son Mitchell, 15, is also up for a gong in the Junior men’s section.

The Wakatipu High outfit had a great run last year, winning the 2008 South Island Secondary Schools ice hockey championships in Dunedin in September.

Rising star Mitchell, from Lake Hayes, is just back from the 2009 World Under-18 International Ice Hockey Federation Championship in Taiwan, where the New Zealand side won silver medals.

“It’s fantastic news the Wakatipu High team has been nominated for the first time,” says Neil Frear.

“I’m also really proud of Mitchell. He was the youngest in the NZ team in Taiwan.”

Other locals in the running for the regional sports awards are Queenstown swimming coach Frank Wylie and Arrowtown-based junior football coach Peter Waters, both nominated in the Coaches category.

And swimmer McGregor Fea is included in a new Roll of Honour section – for junior athletes who narrowly missed selection as finalists yet who are outstanding in their field.

Winners will be selected at the Central Otago sports awards dinner at the Golden Gate Lodge in Cromwell tomorrow night.

Full list of finalists

Senior men: Shaun Scott, lawn bowls (Cromwell); Kevin Hurley, golf (Cromwell); Brian Ellison, boxing (Cromwell); Adam Hall, adaptive snow sports (Wanaka); James Williamson, cycling (Alexandra).

Senior women: Merryn Johnston, triathlon/ironman (Wanaka); Kath Kelly, multisport/adventure racing (Millers Flat).

Junior men: Leighton Winsloe, skiing (Wanaka); Jossi Wells, extreme freeskier (Wanaka); Mitchell Frear, ice hockey (Lake Hayes); Patrick Williamson, cycling (Alexandra); Byron Wells, freeskier (Wanaka).

Junior women: Abby Holden, karate (Cromwell); Sophie Williamson, cycling (Alexandra); Kate McDonald, cycling (Alexandra); Georgia Wight, cycling (Alexandra); Anna Enright, softball/netball (Alexandra).

Coaches: Frank Wylie, swimming (Queenstown); Tom Willmott, snowboarding (Wanaka); Barry Dick, swimming (Alexandra); Peter Waters/Grant Simpson, junior football (Arrowtown/Cromwell).

Teams: Southern League U16 ice hockey; Central Otago U13 hockey boys; Wakatipu High ice hockey team; Central Otago 11th grade rep football team.

Roll of Honour: Emma Dick, swimming (Alexandra); McGregor Fea, swimming (Queenstown); Gareth Lloyd, ice hockey (Cromwell); Beau James Wells, snow sports (Wanaka).

John Fitzharris trophy for Services to Sport: Russell Mills, rowing (Alexandra).