Eight year winning tear


Arrowtown School has established an almost unrivalled sporting dynasty with its Year 5/6 rippa rugby team.

Last week the team won the Otago Year 5/6 champs for the eighth year running in Dunedin.

It beat Alexandra’s The Terrace School six tries to three in the semi-final and Mosgiel’s Silverstream School eight tries to six in the final. It’ll now represent Otago again at the national rippa tournament in Wellington from September 9 till 11.

The team, coached again by teacher Paul Winders, comprises, from left, Katie Mathieson, Nikao Panapa, Annabelle Sinclair, Sienna McIlroy, Molly Shuttleworth, Lola Castles, Toby Johnston, Daniel Jeffery, Jack Kemp, Harry Lightfoot and, front, Cooper Deaker. Molly and Nikao were also in last year’s winning team. Meanwhile, Queenstown Primary won Otago’s Year 7/8 grade rippa rugby competition and Remarkables Primary won the Year 3/4 grade comp to complete a clean sweep for the Wakatipu Basin.