Back in 2019: Ex-Tourism Industry Aotearoa boss Glenys Coughlan (Sir Jack Newman Award) and local Ziptrek Ecotours founder Trent Yeo (emerging tourism leader award) were two big winners at the last NZ Tourism Awards


Nominations are open for the 2021 New Zealand Tourism Awards which are returning after a Covid-caused hiatus last year.

In a revised programme organised by NZ Tourism Industry Aotearoa (TIA), there’ll be eight categories for businesses and three for individuals when the awards are dished out in Hamilton on September 1.

The business categories are for resilience and innovation, community engagement,  employer of choice, conservation, environment, industry collaboration, Maori tourism and visitor experience.

In the individual category there are a tourism champion award, an emerging tourism leader award, which Queenstown’s Ziptrek Ecotours’ Trent Yeo won in 2019, and the Sir Jack Newman Award for ‘outstanding industry leader’ which will be presented on the night.

TIA boss Chris Roberts says: ‘‘While a full awards ceremony didn’t feel appropriate this time last year, our members have told us a return to the annual celebration in some form would be welcome.

‘‘We know tourism businesses and individuals are keen to show how they’ve adapted and innovated over the past year, with the awards dinner bringing a sense of prestige and celebration back to the industry.’’

Awards entries close 5pm on July 1.